ezmlm warning

Jack ostroffjh@users.sourceforge.net
Wed Nov 2 14:55:00 GMT 2016

On 2016.11.02 09:04, Eric Blake wrote:
> On 11/02/2016 05:43 AM, Andrey ``Bass'' Shcheglov wrote:
>> Remote host said: 550-5.7.1 Unauthenticated email from vanav.org is  
>> not accepted due to domain's > 550-5.7.1 DMARC policy. Please  
>> contact the administrator of vanav.org domain if > 550-5.7.1 this  
>> was a legitimate mail. Please visit > 550-5.7.1
> yahoo.com has already been doing this for a while, now gmail.com is  
> doing it too :(
> In addition to the link you quoted:
> > https://support.google.com/mail/answer/2451690
> here's another one:
> https://wiki.list.org/DOC/What%20can%20I%20do%20about%20members%20being%20unsubscribed%20by%20bounces%20of%20Yahoo%20user's%20posts%20for%20DMARC%20policy%20reasons%3F
> The problem is that the mailman instance running the cygwin mailing  
> list (and ALL lists hosted by sourceware, for that matter) needs to  
> be reconfigured to cope with stricter DMARC rules.  I'm not an admin,  
> so you will need to redirect this request to the postmaster that  
> manages cygwin's mailman instance.
> In the meantime, the only "workaround" is to subscribe to the list  
> using an address that isn't quite as nasty about DMARC rules.  It's  
> sad that more and more sites are clamping down, but that's the price  
> we pay for spammers.

I recently ran into the same problem sending to a KDE list.  In my  
case, I was using a sourceforge.net FROM: address, but actually sending  
through my ISP (frontier.com).  Sourceforge had the DMARC policy that  
mail claiming to be from sourceforge.net should not be accepted if it  
came from anywhere else.  I think the final solution was for them to  
drop that rule, since at least one of the uses of sourceforge is  
exactly that type of aliasing.  I don't think gmail will do the same.

You are using a gmail.com address, but it looks like you might have  
sent it from vanav.org.  In this case, I suspect your only solution  
will be to actually send mail from gmail.com using the gmail.com smtp  

Eric's suggestion to resubscribe from an address at a site which is  
less strict about DMARC rules would work, but I think the underlying  
issue will arise again, as long as you use an smtp server other than  
the one from the From: address you are using.

Problem reports:       http://cygwin.com/problems.html
FAQ:                   http://cygwin.com/faq/
Documentation:         http://cygwin.com/docs.html
Unsubscribe info:      http://cygwin.com/ml/#unsubscribe-simple

More information about the Cygwin mailing list