ezmlm warning

cyg Simple cygsimple@gmail.com
Wed Nov 2 13:13:00 GMT 2016

On 11/2/2016 9:04 AM, Eric Blake wrote:
> On 11/02/2016 05:43 AM, Andrey ``Bass'' Shcheglov wrote:
>> Remote host said: 550-5.7.1 Unauthenticated email from vanav.org is not
>> accepted due to domain's > 550-5.7.1 DMARC policy. Please contact the
>> administrator of vanav.org domain if > 550-5.7.1 this was a legitimate
>> mail. Please visit > 550-5.7.1 
> yahoo.com has already been doing this for a while, now gmail.com is
> doing it too :(
> In addition to the link you quoted:
>> https://support.google.com/mail/answer/2451690
> here's another one:
> https://wiki.list.org/DOC/What%20can%20I%20do%20about%20members%20being%20unsubscribed%20by%20bounces%20of%20Yahoo%20user's%20posts%20for%20DMARC%20policy%20reasons%3F
> The problem is that the mailman instance running the cygwin mailing list
> (and ALL lists hosted by sourceware, for that matter) needs to be
> reconfigured to cope with stricter DMARC rules.  I'm not an admin, so
> you will need to redirect this request to the postmaster that manages
> cygwin's mailman instance.
> In the meantime, the only "workaround" is to subscribe to the list using
> an address that isn't quite as nasty about DMARC rules.  It's sad that
> more and more sites are clamping down, but that's the price we pay for
> spammers.

But the mail is being delivered, at least in the gmail case.  I'm
guessing that gmail is sending a status to the sender and delivering the
mail anyway for the time being.

cyg Simple

Problem reports:       http://cygwin.com/problems.html
FAQ:                   http://cygwin.com/faq/
Documentation:         http://cygwin.com/docs.html
Unsubscribe info:      http://cygwin.com/ml/#unsubscribe-simple

More information about the Cygwin mailing list