Junk mail through Cygnus?

Daniel Berlin bmdberlin@worldnet.att.net
Sun Jun 1 22:43:00 GMT 1997

Let's see

   Mary World (MARY-WORLD-DOM)
   1532 Adams St.
   Clevland, OH 44131

   Domain Name: MARY-WORLD.COM

   Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
      Franklin, Mary  (MF2067)  maryfrank@HOTMAIL.COM
   Billing Contact:
      Franklin, Mary  (MF2067)  maryfrank@HOTMAIL.COM

   Record last updated on 28-Mar-97.
   Record created on 20-Feb-97.
   Database last updated on 1-Jun-97 05:08:32 EDT.

   Domain servers in listed order:


They use Cyberpromo.
A friend says they have been taken care of (both the mary-world address and the hotmail address).
Usually that means he subscribed them to 40-50 mailing lists (all of which do not support the who command, and are moderated, so a message like that would never make it to the list. Yet they are all high traffic).
But then, I had nothing to do with that. 
I also left a message for "Mary Franklin".
I intend to have a chat with her.

From: Bill Klein <bk@cheerful.com>
To: gnu-win32@cygnus.com <gnu-win32@cygnus.com>
Date: Monday, June 02, 1997 1:07 AM
Subject: Re: Junk mail through Cygnus?

>James wrote:
>>Have other subscribers to the mailing list gotten this letter?  Is Cygnus
>>passing out the email addresses of the subscribers to this mailing list or
>>did this a8@mary-world.com get the addresses some other way?  If it's not
>>going through Cygnus, why did it have the standard Cygnus footer?
>>Any enlightenment would be appreciated from other members of the mailing
>>list or from Cygnus itself.
>I got it too... The "TO:" field was not to the
>list, so I assume that the person BCCed it to
>this list... In case someone is interested, here
>is the message header:

For help on using this list (especially unsubscribing), send a message to
"gnu-win32-request@cygnus.com" with one line of text: "help".

More information about the Cygwin mailing list